Decorating my plate one meal at a time

Harvest dessert

No need to visit the farmer's market

Canned pumpkin and a pudding cup make this super easy!

I love fall.  Love it.  I love the weather, the clothes, the colors, and most of all, the great things you can find at the local farmer’s market, apple orchard and pumpkin patch.  I adore pumpkin pie and never understood why we only make it once a year.  I would probably eat  pumpkin pie with every meal, if it didn’t mean that I’d have to actually use the Wii Fit that’s sitting in my living room or buy new jeans once a month.
I’ll be honest though, as much as I love pumpkin pie and I love to pretend I’m Betty Crocker, I’ve only made it from scratch twice.  It would have been once, but Mom begged me to make it for Thanksgiving the second time.  It is a lot of work.  A pain in the neck, actually, and you know what?  It doesn’t taste perceptibly different from canned pumpkin.  So use the pumpkins to decorate your table and save yourself from an entire day spent elbow deep in the kitchen sink, just buy the canned pumpkin.
I like to keep a can or two around to add to oatmeal or whip up with a spice cake mix.  I try not to make a whole pie unless I’m taking it somewhere to share it, otherwise, I would eat the whole pie and then we’re back to those new jeans.  After playing around with what I had in my fridge  I came up with this quick and easy dessert that can be enjoyed any time of year.  I frequently eat this without the pudding cup as a satisfying snack, because the high fiber in pumpkin helps me feel full long enough to make it to the next meal.
Here’s what you need:
Canned pumpkin, about 1/2 of a 15 oz can.
1 small apple (smaller than your closed fist) or 1/2 of a medium to large apple.
Sugar or sugar substitute of your choice, about a tablespoon.
Cinnamon or Pie spice to taste (I like a LOT).
1 Sugar Free vanilla pudding cup. (optional)
Cut the apple into small pieces (smaller than your pinkie) and sprinkle with cinnamon or pie spice. Microwave for about 45 seconds.  Stir in pumpkin and sugar/substitute.  Microwave for about another minute. (As with all microwave recipes, your times may vary).
If you like, top the whole works with a pudding cup and another sprinkle of spice to make it pretty.   Grab a spoon and dig in!
2 responses

  1. Steph

    Yummmm… I’ve never understood the seasonal limitations on pumpkin desserts, either. I’ve been saying for decades that CANNED PUMPKIN IS NOT SEASONAL! 🙂

    November 10, 2011 at 4:37 pm

  2. Renee

    Nom, nom, nom! Love this idea!!

    November 10, 2011 at 7:39 pm

Raise your fork

