Decorating my plate one meal at a time

Twice Baked Spaghetti Squash

Mom came home from work a while back with a pile of spaghetti squash.  One of her coworkers harvested their garden and found that they had way too many to eat themselves, so we benefited.  The only problem?  I’ve never made a spaghetti squash before in my life!  Thank goodness for our almost obsessive collection of cook books and online recipes.   It just so happened that a day or two before Mom and I both read an email from Hungry Girl with a recipe for Twice Baked Spaghetti Squash and we couldn’t wait to try it!   If you don’t follow Hungy Girl, you should.  Seriously, go right now and sign up for her daily emails, I’ll wait.

One serving of Twice Baked Spaghetti Squash

The recipe requires a little bit of prep work, and takes longer to make than most of my favorites, but we loved it so much that we’ve made it twice, which means something around here.

I did make a couple of minor adjustments to the recipe that you may or may not enjoy, I added A LOT more garlic, cut out the basil and increased the italian seasoning to a couple tablespoons.  If you’d like to use the fresh basil, check out this stuff. I keep a variety of their products in my fridge, especially the ginger, since I love the flavor of fresh ginger but hate the peeling and chopping.

 

I have also made this for my boyfriend, who, while not a picky eater, doesn’t love a lot of the things I make.  Especially anything from my low fat, low carb, low sugar collection.  He is against vegetarian dishes, so I added some chopped low calorie, low fat italian chicken sausages that I found at the local co-op.  Often he will eat something I’ve made and say “It was ok, but could use X”.  None of that this time, so this recipe is a keeper!  The night I served this at my boyfriend’s place, we had a couple of dinner guests, friends of ours that I don’t see often enough and are sort of foodies like myself, so I wanted to make something special.  They both ate every bite and complimented the dish, so this one goes in the “good for guests” files too.

 

 

 

One response

  1. Jay has two squash sitting in the kitchen right now just waiting for some inspiration. I printed off your recipe and am about to hand it to him. Thanks Tanya!

    November 10, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Raise your fork

