Decorating my plate one meal at a time

Breakfast doesn’t have to be a morning meal

One of my favorite things to do is have breakfast for supper.  Or lunch.  Or sometimes I mix it up and actually eat it for *gasp* breakfast!

What I’m trying to say is: if you have a favorite breakfast meal, who says you have to eat it in the morning?  Waffles for supper? Why not?  I mean, I’m a reasonable facsimile of a grown up, I can do what I want, right?

Yesterday I made brunch around 11 am… actually, it might have been closer to noon.  I got sucked into my social media, email, and school work and forgot all about eating.  I realize that it’s not the best thing to do, but it happens.  After a bit of rummaging around in my mostly empty fridge I came up with a bit of leftover red pepper, a partial onion, and a carton of eggs left behind from last week’s Girl Scout bake-a-palooza (which, thank goodness, I wasn’t home for).

I like Eggs Benedict, but I know that the hollandaise sauce isn’t going to help me fit into clothes I’m hoping to wear when the snow melts in spring, so this is what I threw together instead.  I’m calling it “Faux-Benedict”.

Not just for breakfast.

Faux Benedict

I sliced up the onion and red pepper and threw them in the frying pan with a little cooking spray and pepper.  When those were softened, I transferred them to a little bowl and wiped out the pan with a paper towel before starting on my eggs.  I like my eggs over hard, but if you like that oozy yellow stuff, be my guest!  While the eggs were cooking I grabbed the last english muffin out of the fridge and spritzed it with butter spray (I can’t believe it’s not Fabio!) and dropped it in the toaster oven. The spray keeps the tops of the muffin from being so dry, and soft enough to easily spread with a Garlic and Herb Laughing Cow wedge, which stands in for hollandaise in the flavor and creaminess department.  I just had to slide the eggs on top and layer with pepper/onion mix, the whole process from fridge to plate took maybe 10 minutes.  With a side of grapes this was a good meal to get me going for the rest of my day.

Raise your fork

