Decorating my plate one meal at a time

The clean plate club.

If you were raised the way I was raised, you are also a member of the clean plate club.  Growing up we were frequently reminded that there are starving children in Africa who would be happy to eat your spinach-liver-broccoli-casserole.

Because I’m trying to watch what I eat, I’m not only focusing on eating healthy foods, but also on eating reasonable portions.  What that means to you, is that the majority of the food photographed here is on what most would consider a “dessert” plate.   I use the smaller plate to prevent myself from filling up a dinner plate and trying to eat it all. The years of childhood programming make it really hard to leave food on my plate even though I’m feeling uncomfortably full.  I like to think that a tiny full plate makes my brain say “Wow, look at all that food!” where a larger, sparsely loaded plate makes my brain say “Is that all?”.

I have two “everyday” sets of dishes I use here at home, Corelle Ware and a kids set from IKEA.  Both are nearly indestructible. The IKEA stuff doesn’t hold up to the microwave and dishwasher as well as I’d like, but it is fun and colorful, which I enjoy.  I think eating should be fun; even if I’m just eating apple slices for a snack, I put them in a colorful little bowl.

If you are also making an effort to live a more healthy lifestyle, give the smaller plate a try, you might be surprised at what a big difference a small change can make.

Basic dishes

Dishes most likely to be found in my dishwasher.

Raise your fork

