Decorating my plate one meal at a time

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Sauce

Not the prettiest picture I've taken, but it sure tastes good!

I don’t make a lot of things multiple times.  It’s not that the recipes I’ve tried aren’t good, it’s that I don’t love them enough to make it again when there are so many other things to try.   Pork chop dinner with apple cider sauce  made it into my permanent files.  It makes four servings, so it’s good for a small family or  sharing with friends, but it also freezes well, which is why I could make it often when I lived alone.  I was working full-time, traveling every weekend, and didn’t have time to cook every night.  I could make this when I had an evening free and then grab a quick meal out of the freezer when I didn’t.

A tip about portions and freezing:  Portion out all four servings before you sit down to eat, so that you can’t have “just a little more” from the pot. While you’re eating, the extra portions cool down enough to simply pop the lids on and toss them in the freezer, reducing a step in the after dinner clean up process (one of my least favorite parts of cooking).

I found this recipe while I was digging around in the Weight Watcher’s website, looking for something new to try.  The good news is you don’t need a membership to find some great WW recipes online.  A little searching brought up a publicly accessible page that I could share with you. I’ve also had some pretty good luck with sparkpeople.com.

I think of this as a hearty fall or winter meal, but you could make it any time of year.  Though the recipe calls for savoy cabbage,  I’ve always made it with a regular head of cabbage. I tried it once with red cabbage fresh from my boyfriend’s family garden, which turned everything in the pot (and half of  my little kitchen) pink.  Festive!  Even though it tasted fine, I wouldn’t recommend it.  A plate full of shades of hot pink looks a little funky no matter how normal it tastes.

These pictures were taken a couple of years ago in my tiny apartment kitchen which proves you don’t need a big fancy kitchen to make great tasting healthy meals, just a little time and some simple ingredients.   I hope you’ll give this one a try.

Ready for the freezer

Ready for the freezer

One response

  1. The link for the recipe is broken- but you can also find it here: https://www.weightwatchers.com/food/rcp/RecipePage.aspx?recipeid=137331

    March 11, 2014 at 5:17 am

Raise your fork

