Decorating my plate one meal at a time

Things to be thankful for.

Slimmed down pumpkin pie; an extra sprinkle of pie spice speckles the top.

Today’s post covers three of my favorite things: Thanksgiving, pumpkin pie and Hungry Girl.

I’ve already talked about my deep love for pumpkin pie AND the fabulousness that is Hungry Girl in previous posts, so let’s move on to Thanksgiving.

If I had to say that one holiday was my favorite, it would be Thanksgiving, because it includes so many other things that I adore, like fall weather, a reminder to be thankful for the things that we have, and food.   A whole holiday where the celebration is based around a meal?? How could I not love it?  I will be covering things to do with the leftovers in the next few days, but today, I would like to talk about one of the things I will be bringing along to Thanksgiving dinner:  Wayne’s Pumpkin Smash.

This Hungry Girl recipe uses some of the basics for slimming down the fat and carb content: reduce or replace sugar and use the fat-free version of things when they’re available. While we’re at it, let’s chuck the crust (I never eat it anyway).    This is so simple to make and tastes so good!   I’ve made this twice and I can’t wait for an excuse to make it again. The first time I made it, I didn’t use the full amount of sugar substitute suggested because I have noticed in the past that things tend to get too sweet for my taste when swapping cup for cup.  In this case, I should have known Hungry Girl knows what she’s doing.

I like using a 9″x9″ square pan, as this makes 9 servings. When have you ever cut a round pie into 9 servings?  When I took the picture, I had made it to take along to a party, so I used a disposable pie pan. Either way it tastes the same, but if you’re tracking your nutritional data, be sure to add for a slightly larger portion.

Serve this up with fat-free whipped cream (we like RheddiWhip).  Garnishing a slice with a liberal spoon full of pomegranate seeds over the whipped cream adds a burst of color and flavor that dresses up this old standby.  A container of the seeds can sometimes be found in your local produce section: be prepared to pay a price for saving time.  You can do it yourself, which can be a little messy, but isn’t difficult.

By making a few small changes to this Turkey-day staple, I’m able to stick to my healthy eating and I won’t have to say no when it’s time for dessert.   Just one more thing to be thankful for!

Raise your fork

