Decorating my plate one meal at a time

Portion! Portion! Portion!

Open faced turkey sandwich

Open faced turkey sandwich or as we call it in MN, turkey commercial.

For me, this is the standard day after Thanksgiving meal.  Simple, tasty and fast.  Dig the leftovers out of the fridge and pile them together, that’s it!  The main thing I’ve done to keep this healthy is to limit the portions.

1 slice of low-cal bread. My favorite is Sara Lee 45 and delightful.

1/2 cup of mashed potatoes. We make ours with skim or 1% milk, Brummel & Brown spread and plenty of Mrs. Dash seasoning.

1/4 cup gravy.  I make my own gravy, but honestly, there are a lot of low-fat jarred gravies out there.

2 oz chopped turkey. White meat is better, but I usually end up using a little dark meat because the white is the first to go around here.

That’s all there is to it, so you’ll be able to get back to untangling those holiday lights and finding your ornament hooks in no time.

By the way – are you planning your Turkey Day meal??  Check out Food Network’s website, which is totally devoted to the bird and all its trimmings right now, including a whole special on leftovers.   I’m not saying that all the recipes are healthy, but there are some healthy options.  For the holidays, I plan on eating small portions of my favorites, even if they’re not low-fat/carb/cal.  For example:  To me, it is not Christmas morning without Chocolate Crinkles and milk…  So, I will limit myself to one (or two) and I won’t feel deprived.  I know the main reason I have fallen off the healthy-eating wagon in the past is because I felt like I couldn’t have any of the things I enjoyed.  This way, I get to eat what I want, in moderation, and I won’t feel like I’m missing out.

Portion! Portion! Portion! It’s my new holiday mantra.

One response

  1. Shannon Krueger

    Fat free sour cream works super for mashed potatoes too insted of butter. I use that or skim milk, whatever I’ve got in the house.

    January 25, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Raise your fork

