Decorating my plate one meal at a time

Chicken Pot Pie Bundles.

I found this recipe while surfing Pinterest, the new time-sucking website of choice.  You can find the original recipe here.  I made a few minor changes.  While I have tried to make this blog simply about healthy eating, I have to be honest, I’m trying to lose an ambitious goal of 111 pounds.  I’ve lost 51 so far in 31 weeks by following Weight Watchers.   Not everyone needs to lose weight, but everyone needs to eat healthy, so I try to keep the weight loss message to a minimum.  What I’m trying to say is that I make adjustments to recipes to make them fit more within my own needs, if you want to make this using the original recipe, go for it!  I don’t claim to author any of  the recipes I use and I always try to give credit where credit is due.

Ok, with that out of the way, I am very excited to share this recipe.  It was so good!!

You will need:

  • cooking spray

    Chop chop chop

  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 cup Carrots, Chopped
  • 1 pound boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into 1/2-inch dice
  • 1/2 tsp dried tarragon
  • 1/2 tsp table salt
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 1 cup fat-free chicken broth
  • 4 tsp cornstarch
  • 3/4 cup cooked frozen green peas
  • 3/4 cup frozen corn kernels
  • 12 egg roll wrappers
  • 2 Tbsp shredded Parmesan cheese
  • butter spray (like I can’t believe it’s not butter)

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Spray large nonstick skillet , heat over medium-high heat. Add the carrot and onion and cook, stirring frequently, until softened, about 5 minutes.

Add the garlic, and cook 1 minute more.

Stir in the chicken, tarragon, salt, and pepper. Cook until the chicken is no longer pink, about 5 minutes.

Place the broth and cornstarch in a bowl and whisk until well combined. Add to the skillet along with the peas and corn, and bring the liquid to a simmer, stirring constantly. Continue to simmer and stir gently until the sauce thickens, about 2 minutes.

To prepare the bundles, use a muffin pan with 12 medium-size cups (do not coat with nonstick cooking spray). Gently place 1 egg roll wrap into each cup, letting it extend over the sides. Place a generous 1/4 cup of the chicken mixture into each wrap, and sprinkle the Parmesan cheese (a little less than a 1/4 tsp each) on top.

Fold the corners up and over the top of the filling and press to seal the edges – try wetting your fingers with a little water to help the seal (it doesnt have to be perfect!).

Lightly spray top of each bundle with a little spray or butter substitute spray (I can’t belive it’s not butter).

Bake until golden and crisp,14 to 18 minutes. Cool slightly before eating.

And now: Photopalooza:

Using a wet finger to seal up the bundles

Spritzing the tops may or may not help them brown. Your mileage may vary.

Lets EAT!

4 responses

  1. DK

    I’m going to have to try those, for sure!

    January 25, 2012 at 9:24 am

  2. Kathy

    It looks yummy!!. Hi Tanya, Kathy Horner here, Jims Kathy. Becca shared your blog with me because I am also a Weight Watcher. I do allot of online connecting and I also appreciate the photo taken of a good presentation. It also helps me pause and appreciate more. Are you using WW etools? Anyway, hope you dont mind me dropping by and enjoying your food ideas, would you consider adding what the PP were or dont you want to give it that much WW focus.

    Later

    Kathy

    January 25, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    • I LOVE that you’re dropping by! I set this up to share my adventures in healthy eating and to find a focus for some creative energy that doesn’t cost me a ton in supplies, I mean, a girl’s gotta eat, right? And I can’t eat fabric or yarn. 🙂

      I’m trying not to make the focus about losing weight, but I will be happy to share WWP+ if asked! The Pot Pies come out to 3 points each pie or 6 points for a 2 piece serving.

      They’re so good and super easy! Stay tuned, because I’ve tested 2 new recipes already this week and I have one more on the list… plus one I tried last month and never wrote up, so I’m hoping to get them all written up in the next few days and I’ll set the publishing dates a day or two apart, so everyone won’t get 400 messages from me at once.

      Happy eating!
      ~T.

      January 25, 2012 at 5:55 pm

  3. Kathy

    Thanks Tanya 3 P+ each is great. I get in such a cooking/eating rut and when I try something new I get soooo excited because I get so fullfilled by eating something new, your body really needs change to feel satisfied and preparing, eating, and cleanup all culminate to satisfy us. When we skip all that and pop something in the oven we/I am searching for “something” afterward. I am going to add a link here to a radio show from LA called Weight Watchers Live. Through my WW connecting online I met a girl from LA and when Becca and I went out there in December for a trip for Becca’s job I hooked up with this girl and went to a WW mtg in the Hollywood area, it was at this meeting that I met Lynn who is the host of this show. She said feel free to share the link. Its just a nice extra connection. http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/19851275

    January 25, 2012 at 6:33 pm

Raise your fork

