Decorating my plate one meal at a time

French Dip “cupcakes”.

French Dip Cupcakes and asparagus

I made another dish today that I found on Pinterest.  Another really good dish.  I’m not going to type it all out, because I didn’t really make any catastrophic changes to it, so go Emily Bites to find the recipe.

She has this listed as an appetizer, but we made it as a meal.  We used a combination of Oscar Meyer Deli Fresh roast beef and Carving Board roast beef because that was what we had in the fridge and freezer.  I prefer the Deli Fresh, but Mom likes the Carving Board better for this recipe.  We both think the CB is more salty, and I believe, stats-wise, the DF is a better choice.

The recipe states to chop up the Laughing Cow wedges.  Don’t bother.  It’s soft to begin with, so dump the whole wedge into the microwave bowl and smash it up a bit with the spoon as you mix everything together.  Once you’ve nuked the whole works and give it another good stir most of it will have liquified.  There might be some little chunks, but don’t stress over it, they’ll melt out in the oven.

Mom and I are both kitchen gadget geeks and I discovered one in her kitchen that I do not have that was seriously useful in making both this recipe and the Chicken Pot Pie Bundles.  The Pampered Chef Mini Tart Shaper may not seem like much, and you can probably live without it if you’re not a kitchen junkie, but it made pressing the wonton wrappers into the cups without sticking my (long, fake) fingernails through them much much easier.   You could probably use a small rubber spatula or the bottom of a juice glass if you also have problem nails.

Once we had the wrappers pressed in, I made note of how much went into each layer, because I dislike it when the directions say “portion half the mixture in 12 cups”.  Crap.  I’m going to run out.   I’m going to use too much and not have enough left for the top layer, or use too little and have too much left.  Anyway, I used about a tablespoon of the meat/cheese/au jus mixture per cup, per layer.   I wasn’t smart enough to do the same for the mozzarella cheese, but we did measure out a half cup per layer which made it easier to portion.

These turned out beautifully!  The smelled great, looked pretty and tasted so good I almost licked my plate clean.  We served up 2 “cupcakes” with a side of asparagus and it was the perfect amount.  I left the table feeling completely satisfied.

So, I give this recipe a thumbs up, who doesn’t like meat and cupcakes in the same sentence?

Just mush the cheese up with the spoon, don't bother chopping.

After microwaving and stirring

All ready for the oven! 20 minutes until dinner.

Raise your fork

