Decorating my plate one meal at a time

Spinach Artichoke Dip

Pot luck.  I feel a little bit of dread each time I head to one.   I know that I’ll be faced with a buffet of things I shouldn’t really eat.  Cookies, cake, fat-loaded dips with greasy chips, mayo based pasta salads… all very tasty, but not really fitting my nutritional needs.  I know I should eat a meal before I go and then just have a few snacks from something healthy, like the fruit or veggie tray.  But what should I make to contribute?    Yet again, I turned to Hungry Girl.  Mom and I have several of her books, but the one most useful in this situation is Happy Hour, which is filled with recipes for healthy (low fat/calorie) hors d’oeuvres, dips and adult beverages.

I made her Crazy-Creamy Spinach Artichoke Dip and put it out on the buffet and waited…  I got a pretty big grin on my face when the first person asked “OMG! Who made the dip?!?!”  No one believed that it was “diet” food.   I deviated from the recipe just a tiny bit.  First, I used my old favorite Gourmet Garden garlic in a tube, and then I minced the shallot in my mini food processor but I didn’t follow her direction to saute them, I just mixed them right into the dip.  I also didn’t bake the dip, I simply poured the whole works into a little crock pot and served it up when it got hot.  Super easy.  It tasted fantastic with the pita bread that I sliced into little wedges, or with the tortilla chips that someone else contributed to the buffet.

I’m sorry to say I didn’t get a picture of it, but there is one on her website.

Next time you’re trying to figure out what to take along to a party, keep this in mind, but hold a little back for your breakfast the next day. I made a double batch, so there was just a little left over.  This morning I stirred some into my egg mug.  Fantastic!  Nothing like getting two different meals out of one recipe.

Raise your fork

